Joy Prison Ministry has been faithful and humbly ministering to inmates in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice System for over 38 plus years under the vision of Gertha (Mama) Rogers. All of JOY's members are volunteers who travel approximately 35,000 miles annually to minister to the incarcerated population.
Joy Prison Ministry currently visits over 24 plus prisons and jails statewide, transforming lives by sharing the good news of the Gospel of Jesus Christ to thousands of inmates and their guards. Many of them have given or rededicated their lives to Jesus Christ 

Scheduled Texas Department of Criminal Justice Prison Units


Boyd Unit (Teague)

Carole Young Medical Facility (Dickinson)

Clemens Unit (Brazoria)

Clements Trustee Camp (Brazoria)

Darrington Main Building (Rosharon)

Darrington Trustee Camp (Rosharon)

Ellis Unit (Huntsville)

Estelle Unit (Huntsville)

Eastham Unit (Lovelady)

Ferguson Main Building (Midway)

Ferguson Trustee Camp (Midway)

Gib Lewis Unit (Woodville)

Goree Unit (Huntsville)

Jester 3 Unit (Richmond)

Pam Lychner Jail (Atascosita/Humble)

Plain State Jail (Dayton/Female)

Polunsky Unit (Livingston)

Ramsey Main Building (Rosharon)

Ramsey Trustee Camp (Rosharon)

Stringfellow Unit (Rosharon)

Terrell Unit (Rosharon)

Walls Unit (Huntsville)

Wayne Scott Unit (Angleton)

Wayne Scott Trustee Camp (Angleton)

Wynn Unit (Huntsville)

Wynn Trustee Camp  (Huntsville)